Welcome to my BG guide. If you guys are PvP veterans, you may be familiar with what I will be covering. But you’ve been slaying internet dragons in dungeon for a long time and new to BG, this guide is definitely right for you.

History of Battleground

Posted by WoWWiki

Battlegrounds are instanced areas used for player versus player combat. Each classic battleground(Warsong Gulch, Arathi Basin and Alterac Valley) has two red instance entrance portals: one for the Alliance, and one for the Horde. Crossing these portals was originally one of the ways to enter the queue for their respective battlegrounds. Now, to enter the queue for any battleground, the player must seek out a Battlemaster, which can be found at the portal or in any capital city, or do so through the Player vs. Player tab. Once inside the instance, the two teams will engage in large-scale PvP, with various objectives determining the winner. Players will earn honor points making PvP rewards available. If a character goes AFK, he/she will leave the battleground and gain the Deserter debuff. This prevents entry to another battleground for a 15 minute duration. You can report an inactive player by right clicking the player’s portrait and selecting “Report AFK”. When enough reports are registered, a 60 second debuff will begin to count down. Once the timer is up a new debuff will appear that will prevent the player from gaining any honor or marks while it is on. This debuff can be negated as soon as the player engages in PvP combat. This system is often abused, since a player can have good reasons for not participating in PVP, for example when he is defending. The two initial Battleground areas, Alterac Valley and Warsong Gulch, went live June 7th, 2005. Arathi Basin was added to the list in Patch 1.7 on September 13th, 2005. A fourth battleground, named Eye of the Storm, was released with the Burning Crusade. A fifth battleground, the Strand of the Ancients, was added in Wrath of the Lich King. The sixth battleground, the Isle of Conquest, was added in Patch 3.2 on August 4th, 2009.

Twin Peaks and The Battle for Gilneas were added after Cataclysm. WoWWiki needs to update their stuff!

Guide to BG

Before you push that que-BG button, you will be much better prepared if you do the following pre-checks:

– Obtain 2.5+ Resilience (PvP gears)

– Have a PvP spec ready

– Get your PvP gears enchanted

Resilience is your best friend. If you don’t have enough honor or conquest points to purchase the latest PvP gears, you can buy full sets of 346 PvP gears from Auction house or players with Tailor/Leatherwork/Blacksmith profession.

Now you are prepared to enter the Battleground. Before you recklessly charge into 10 people, know that brute force is not always the right approach to winning BGs. Depending on the Battlegrounds you joined, there are different objectives for each one of them.

1. Warsong Gulch – Capture the flag

2. Twin Peaks – Capture the flag

3. Arathi Basin – Capture bases to gain points

4. Battle for Gilneas – Capture bases to gain points

5. Eye of the Storm – Capture bases or flags to gain points

6. Strand of Ancients – Attack or defend ancient relic

7. Alterac Valley – Defeat enemy general

8. Isle of Conquest – Defeat enemy general

While you engage in combat, always remember that objective comes above everything else. It is necessary to sacrifice yourself to get the objectives done. For example, if you’re escorting your flag carrier in capture the flag BG, you will do whatever you can to crowd-control and keep enemies off your flag carrier. In capture the bases BG, you see 7 people assaulting a base and you’re the only defender. Instead of running away, call your teammates for aid. Survive and keep enemies from capping your base for as long as possible until your teammates get there.

Here is a funny video posted by wowcrendor talking about fail BGs.

A lot of the tips of winning BGs come from experience. If you stick with your team and stay focus on objectives, you will find yourself victorious. Enjoy and have fun pwning Battleground!